Welcome to [art]seen!

Our [art]seen bloggers are University of Michigan students who review arts events on and around campus, sharing their thoughts and experiences on live music, film screenings, dance performances, theatre productions and art exhibitions. If you’re a U-M student interested in becoming a regular blogger, there may be a position available to get paid for your blogs! … Continue reading Welcome to [art]seen!

PREVIEW: 2017 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition.

From November 10, 2017 to December 16, 2017 is Stamps’ annual Undergraduate Juried Exhibition, located at the new Stamps Gallery at 201 S. Division Street. Featuring the exceptional work of Stamps students, jurors (Anne-Marie Kim, BFA 2004, Samara Pearlstein, BFA 2008, and Ron Watters, BFA 2001) have selected a showcase of the best works to … Continue reading PREVIEW: 2017 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition.

PREVIEW: Writer to Writer

What: A conversation between one Sweetland faculty member and Dr. Howard Markel, UM professor of History of Medicine on the writing process outside of the classroom. Time and Venue: 21 Nov 7-8pm, Literati Bookstore (wooh!) Who is this for: Aspiring writers, fans of Dr. Markel, writers-trudging-through-first-year-writing-courses (aka yours truly)– anyone really. Why watch: Writing is … Continue reading PREVIEW: Writer to Writer

REVIEW: New York Philharmonic – Young People’s Concert

Word was out: The New York Philharmonic was set to make its debut to the University for their second major residency in honor of Leonard Bernstein. Upon their arrival, the NY Philharmonic had more than twenty various educational and community engagement activities planned for both students on campus and those of the larger community as … Continue reading REVIEW: New York Philharmonic – Young People’s Concert

REVIEW: Intergalactic Pops

This concert was not your typical concert. With hilariously-poorly-designed videos, a planet diss showdown, a lightsaber fight, and a game show, Michigan Pops definitely brought the pops to Michigan. Before the main event, the early-arriving audience was entertained by Dicks and Janes, an a cappella group on campus.   Their singing was lovely, and I … Continue reading REVIEW: Intergalactic Pops